Dublin in the 60s

I’ve talked a lot about not experiencing the outside world when I was growing up in Goldenbridge. However, the very rare occasions I did get to know the city, was when I stayed with the Boyne family of Boyne St. off Westland Row, which is not too far from Pearse St. which is depicted in this video of Dublin in the 60s.

I wonder was the video for training purposes of CIE staff? It appears that way from observations of a large bus seen near the end of the video.

In my estimation, Dublin was aesthetically far nicer than it is today. The city was destroyed all in the name of modernity.

Leave a Reply

